## **For Immediate Release**

May 17, 2022

## **Media Contact:**

Ryan Jarvi
Director of Communication
Northwest Education Services
231.922.6242 | rjarvi@NorthwestEd.org

## North Ed, Traverse Connect, TBA Credit Union Announce 2022 Outstanding Educators

**TRAVERSE CITY, Mich.** – Ten educators identified by their colleagues and communities as going above and beyond to serve students and their schools are being recognized as 2022's Outstanding Educator Award recipients.

Through a partnership between Northwest Education Services (North Ed), Traverse Connect and TBA Credit Union, the Outstanding Educator Awards recognize school employees in northwest Michigan who have made exemplary contributions to the academic success of students, educational collaboration and professional development.

Listed in alphabetical order, this year's outstanding educators are:

- Anne Clark Support staff, Benzie Central Schools Crystal Lake Elementary School
- Sherry Ekins Support staff, TCAPS Courtade Elementary School
- Brian Matchett Agriscience instructor, North Ed Career Tech
- Minda Nyquist Theater/English teacher, TCAPS West Senior High School
- Molly Straebel Speech therapist, North Ed Life Skills Center
- Maria Taplin Math teacher, TCAPS West Middle School
- Sharon Taylor 5th grade teacher, GTACS Immaculate Conception
- Ann Thaxton Special education teacher, TCAPS Long Lake Elementary School
- Libby Wadsworth K/1 teacher, Suttons Bay Elementary School
- Emily Witte Reading interventionist, TCAPS Blair Elementary School

"Teaching is a noble profession that comes with much responsibility," said Dr. Nick Ceglarek, superintendent of Northwest Education Services. "Always ready to extend a helping hand to their students, these individuals stand out in their schools by the way they inspire and motivate our youth to try new things, work hard and never give up. Each is truly deserving of this award."

Established by the then Traverse City Area Chamber of Commerce in 1984, the Outstanding Educator Award program is facilitated by North Ed in collaboration with TBA Credit Union and Traverse Connect. Each year, nominations are submitted by public, private and parochial school administrators, colleagues, students, parents and community members throughout the five counties of Antrim, Benzie, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska and Leelanau. Nomination materials are

reviewed by a selection committee representative of school and community leaders and scored based on points awarded for demonstrated educational excellence.

This year's outstanding educators will be recognized at an awards ceremony that will take place at 7 p.m. Wednesday, June 1 at the City Opera House in Traverse City. The event is open to the public.

# # #