Outstanding Educator Awards Program

Regional Outstanding Educator Awards

Northwest Education Services (formerly Traverse Bay Area Intermediate School District),  in collaboration with Traverse Connect and TBA Credit Union, annually seek nominations for teachers, administrators and school support staff who make outstanding contributions toward the education of students throughout the five-county Traverse Bay region. The regional Outstanding Educator Awards honor the top individuals selected from a pool of candidates who are nominated by community members, professional peers, students and parents. Nomination criteria, forms and a list of past honorees are provided below.

2023 Award Criteria & NOMINATION FORM - Deadline April 10, 2023

Past Award Recipients

TBA Credit Union logo. Locally Connected. Personally Invested.      Northwest Education Services logoTraverse Connect logo             




Congratulations to the 2022 Honorees (in alpha order)

Anne Clark
Support Staff, Benzie Central Schools Crystal Lake Elementary
Sherry Ekins
Support Staff, TCAPS Courtade Elementary
Brian Matchett
Agriscience instructor, North Ed Career Tech
Minda Nyquist
Theater/English teacher, TCAPS West Senior High School
Molly Straebel
Speech therapist, North Ed Life Skills Center
Maria Taplin
Math teacher, TCAPS West Middle School
Sharon Taylor
5th Grade Teacher, GTACS Immaculate Conception
Ann Thaxton
Special Education Teacher, TCAPS Long Lake Elementary
Libby Wadsworth
K/1 Teacher, Suttons Bay Elementary
Emily Witte
Reading interventionist, TCAPS Blair Elementary